Whac-A-Mole for Kinect–Prime Number Edition

whacamoleThrough the Easter Holidays I decided that I would have some fun programming the Kinect SDK and I thought that I would try some new things out. I had a play around with random position of items and I thought I would see what I could come up with.

After spending 1 day in front of my laptop, I’ve managed to come up with this educational game which checks students knowledge of prime numbers. The idea is to squash moles when they’re not prime numbers. Let me know what you think.

I will be uploading the source once I am ready for a full release, however you can see how it is progressing at the moment.

Kinect Whac-A-Mole / Prime Numbers
About raychambers

I am currently teaching ICT at Uppingham Community College in Uppingham, Rutland. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Education, Kinect, Kinect SDK, Kinect Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whac-A-Mole for Kinect–Prime Number Edition

  1. Anne says:

    Hi Ray, I just bought an xbox kinect for our school and am looking for ways to incorporate it. I am not really much into programming. Do I need to learn how to create games like your mole wacker in order to use the kinect or can I use ones you and others create and share, If I were to download on of yours, do I then burn it to a CD/DVD and put that into the Xbox, or does the Kinect connect to my computer and run from there? Sorry, I’m really a newbie.
    thanks,
    Anne

Leave a Reply

