Use of Xbox 360 In Extending The Learning Of Individuals

To encourage the creativity of students and to encourage the overall learning of students, I set out to create an innovative and fun scheme of work which would combine the use of Maths, English and ICT.

Students in my lessons were very Shy and some of them were very independant. I wanted to encourage them to work in groups and be more supportive. I created a scheme of work which would encourage this and on the whole it was successful.

I got an Xbox 360, Kinect, Webcam, Def Jam Rapstar and used Microsofts free tools located at : http://www.microsoft.com/education/pil/ (Microsoft Partners In Learning). I set out to create something which was “Current”. I wanted the students to be able to relate to the work. I set the scenario that the students would be an up and coming Rap Crew. The students would have to develop advertisements, write songs (creative writing), build nets (maths) and overall they would have to perform their Rap in front of the class.

The great thing about all of these tools were…. THEY WERE FREEE!!! Join the UK Partners In Learning Network today and get access to all of these wonderful tools!

It was extremely successful and the students created some amazing Raps. I am currently developing this scheme of work even more so that the parents can see their work on the blog each week. I want parents to be able to see the performances which is why I have been posting examples of their work on the schools version of youtube. You can see one of the performances at this address : – http://www.communityalbums.com/video/year-7-def-jam-rapstar-patrick-luke-jack

If you would like to try this with your class – I have attached some of the resources below. I will be updating them as I have only just done the first trial. The second time round will include the use of a blog so that parents can communicate with their children and praise their work.

I have attached some photographs of students work below:

Stage / Characters / Students working together / Student creating stage on Paint.net

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Use of Xbox 360 In Extending The Learning Of Individuals

  1. Stuart says:

    Great post Ray, you can get SongSmith and Autocollage for free from our website http://uk.partnersinlearningnetwork.com.
    The links you have are only to the trial versions..

    • raychambers says:

      Cheers Stuart 😉 Will update that now – was having some trouble with laptop at the time… hense the bullets points being spread-out. Will update today 🙂

Leave a Reply

