New Project with Year 7 to raise awareness of bullying

Def Jam Rap Star Bullying Project

I have recently started a project with year 7 students at Lodge Park Technology College. Students have always had the opportunity to learn desktop publishing and how to build graphics products in school but have the students been engaged? During the last month I have been developing and delivering a project with the year 7’s all about Music and Bullying. The aim of the unit of work is to get students more engaged by using games technology. Students have the opportunity to use the Xbox 360 and the Kinect in the class room to both answer questions and solve tasks.

Scenario : – Students are an up and coming rap crew who must build up to a performance by making advertisements and by developing characters. All of the products are planned and then made on the computer leading up to one final performance on the Xbox360. You can see the lessons delivered so far and follow the progress of the project each week. The final performance is where creative writing and bullying comes into play. Students must write their Rap about bullying. The best ones will be voted on online by you for the winners performance. There will be prizes for the top 3 students. Check this blog for updates and resources used in the future….

Lessons delivered so far…:

Lesson 1 – Students to research Rap Stars using My Montage which is a free web based application which allows you to make your own newspaper online. – Mymontage.net

Lesson 2 – Students to develop mind maps and start sketching out their characters before using free software from Microsoft to develop them on the computer. – Paint.net

http://lptcdefjamrap.wordpress.com/ – Click this link to monitor the progress of the project.

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

