Kinect Quiz for teachers

So recently I have been using the Kinect and I have been making lots of resources and lots of applications for me to run within Visual Studio, however I thought that it would be beneficial if I could have a simple text file to edit rather than re-compiling the code all the time. I know that not every teacher has done computer science and the thought of programming just seems mind-numbing. I decided to make some of my applications more user friendly and after playing around with my Kinect Quiz I have managed to make it accessible to ALL TEACHERS all you need to do, is edit the simple text file by including your questions and you will have a finished lesson resource. You’ll find that all the students want to use the Kinect and you don’t even need an interactive whiteboard!!

The quiz allows you to answer 10 questions. You need to separate your questions, final answer and the possible answers using commas. If you read the instructions it is pretty easy to follow. I have also included a nifty reset button so that you can start over if you like. It doesn’t tell you if you have it wrong but you will know this yourself when the score doesn’t increase. You could have competitions with your students to see who gets the highest score!

You can download the source and the application from here. The finished version is called Kinect Quiz For Teachers and the source code is KinectQuiz4TeachersSource. Just so you don’t get the two muddled up from my sky drive.

Read the instructions here

Here’s the example of how it works again, however there is a new reset button and you can add 10 questions around your lesson.

Simple Kinect Quiz–Skip to 1:21 to see it running…
About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kinect Quiz for teachers

  1. Pingback: First Kinect SDK Program Complete | raychambers

  2. Mike says:

    Hi!
    It looks like you are going to share your code, isn’t it??
    The link you published on “chanel 9” doesn’t work (skydrive is down the whole day long) .
    How about a serious hoster like github?

    Greetz
    Mike

    • raychambers says:

      Hi Mike,

      Yes I’m sharing the code. I don’t mind people using it as it will help them as well in the long run.

      I just went to the link and have got a few friends to check the link and it appears to be working :S If you email me I can attached the file for you. Just let me know which one you’re interested in.

      Kind regards

      Ray

Leave a Reply

