Kinect…. putting it to the test!!

First full week back at school… verdict… It was Awesome! I finally IMG_3356had the opportunity to work my magic with the Kinect programs I had made. I made sure the Kinect was set up on my laptop and I brought in the kids. I tried various versions of the quiz with my class including questions about safety in the ICT suite and questions about HTML. Both of the classes were equally engaged. You can see Jake from Lodge Park Technology College in the picture trying out the program.

See the results of the Kinect for yourself!

After the week was over I found the majority of my classes walking through the door asking, “Are you the teacher that uses Kinect?”. It seemed that the word had already got around the school and the students were excited even before I had told them their learning objectives. I found teaching lower level set students to be a lot more fun. Students were picking up difficult HTML and they were having fun on the Kinect. Although they found it funny seeing themselves on the screen they were learning some difficult concepts.

Word has now gotten about the school about the Kinect programs I have done. I have spoke to teachers in English about developing a spelling program for them and I have even spoke to music about developing some sound boards! I am very excited about what is to come from this project!

I would like to give Gareth Ritter a special mention here http://www.askthemusicteacher.co.uk . He has been doing similar things in his school in Cardiff and has had similar results. You will be able to see one of his students Corey Whittle trying out my Kinect Quiz and he has adapted it to use it with his year 7 music club. He also managed to use my Kinect Keyboard as well and you can hear his version of “when the saints”. Gareth has been doing similar things in his school and has had great success with the Kinect. Students have been using the Kinect with Bing Maps and they have even used it for presenting PowerPoints.

Another shout out goes to Jimmy Edwards at Saltash.net community school in cornwall. He has been doing some fantastic work with his students and has been developing a project which looks into the use of the Kinect in other areas of the Curriculum. You can check his blog out at : http://techlemur.wordpress.com/ You can see some great videos which show even 2 year olds using the Kinect! How Rad!!

One person who has some great idea’s who I am looking forward to working with in the future is Alessio Bernardelli. He has come up with some fantastic ideas for science and I’m looking forward to seeing what can be made from future communication. Have a read of his blog at http://alessiobernardelli.wordpress.com . He has some fantastic ideas and if you’re a keen Kinect enthusiast he’s your man!

From reading all of these blogs you will find that we all agree that the Kinect is the best investment we have all made. We have found that students are more engaged and the buzz surrounding the progress of this is surreal. I can’t wait to see future developments!

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kinect…. putting it to the test!!

  1. Thanks for the mention mate! I love the video and it shows how engaged your kids were using the Kinect in their lessons. And you are very right! This is just the beginning… there are countless ideas that could be put into practice with a Kinect! What I believe amazes the kids more in things like what you have done, is the fact that they look at something that they perceive as being really high-tech and completely accessible used in a completely new way they didn’t even think was possible! By interesting them in this Magic, as you rightly call it, you have engaged them in their learning and suddenly the subject also become more enticing.
    Great post and great job mate!

Leave a Reply

