Using the Kinect Within Science

Recently I got speaking to @asober (Alessio Bernardelli) about using the Kinect in science lessons. Alessio had some fantastic ideas about how the Kinect could be used in science lessons, however with the SDK being so new it seemed difficult to complete many of his amazing ideas. Galaxyblue

After spending a few months trialing a few things I came across a youtube video with source code attached. Click here to see the video. The difficulty from the task was the scaling using the hands. After viewing this video and going to the source he provided in his comments, I was able to download and edit a program to meet Alessio’s requirements.

The idea of the program was to show the red shift in galaxies when approaching. To show this the program changes the colour of the picture to red when getting smaller (getting further away from the galaxy) and the picture changes to blue when the pictures gets bigger (getting closer to the galaxy).

See the video below to see how the program works and to download the source code of what I have so that you can make some more changes to it to suite your project.

Hopefully I will be able to create a program which allows you to change the image based on the file name in a text file soon – keep checking back for updates!

Click Here – Access my Sky Drive and download the zip file KinectRedShift

Kinect in Science / Red Shift
About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

