Kinect + Kodu–Teaser….

So recently I posted a video of me using the Kinect to control Kodu…

koduFor those of you who do not know what Kodu is a rich tool which encourages programming at a medium level which allows creation of story telling. It allows students to create 3D games in easy steps. The games can be exported onto the Xbox360 and it helps children with critical thinking and it helps them with problem solving in many ways. It also helps them build personal relationships with peers. Students can use it to make fun games using both an Xbox360 controller or a keyboard and mouse.

If you would like to download Kodu, it is available free and you can download it from the Microsoft Partners In Learning Network. Sign up and have access to the learning suite which includes even more tools. Click here

Over the past month I have been improving my programming skills and have trying to push the Kinect SDK to the limits in order to see what I could do. In one of my previous videos you will have seen that I was able to get the Kinect to move the Kodu character around the screen.

Kinect and Kodu voice controls–Preview of what is to come….

Since my last video I have now been able to allow the user to choose which button will be pressed based on your arm movements. You are now able to use a combination of drop boxes to pick the button which is pressed. I have also added in custom speech controls. You can now pick what you want to say when shooting something. For example you could say “Chicken” and it would press the space bar, or you could say “Kinect”. It is all customisable and you can pick what you want it to say.

See the video below to follow the progress. You can see that it’s in it’s early stages but you get the idea of how it will work. It will be ready to release in the new year!

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Education, Kinect and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kinect + Kodu–Teaser….

  1. Sandro Alza says:

    Dear Ray,
    This very interesting what you say, can you give me a hand to lower the Kodu Kinect controller to access gestural controls. We are trying to use this in primary school children with disabilities.
    Regards
    Sandro Alza.
    My e mail is: sandalza@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

