Using the Kinect and XGames to teach “Control”

xbox360In my lesson today I wanted to get students to come up and learn using the white board. I wanted students to try and interact with flow charts using the Kinect SDK. In ICT we currently use a piece of software called “GO”. The students need to understand concepts of using flow charts. They have to understand the different shapes used and they also need to understand why we use sensors in real life. As part of the current national curriculum, I wanted to spruce things up a little bit.

kinectIn my ICT lesson today, I had students coming up and making their flow charts using a Kinect cursor which was made using the Kinect SDK. It was a little “glitchy” but students loved using it and got a lot from it. Students progress more when the enjoy the subject FACT! Check out the plenary in the video below.

After the main part of the lesson, students were split into 4 groups across the class. I had 4 rows of computers and put each row of students together in the 4 separate corners of the class. The students would then answer questions using a piece of software called XGAMES. This piece of software requires the use of 4 Xbox Controllers, A Sensor and your set of questions. I bought my sensor off E-bay for £6. The Xbox controllers were found around my house. It has an easy to use question set which you can edit and the students enjoy using it. There are 4 games on it and students compete on all 4 of them to get the highest score. In my lesson, we played XDrop! Students would be able to bet points on the answer and would try and get the highest score.  See the video to see the parts of my lesson on control.

Kinect controller and Xbox Games to engage Key Stage 3

Click here to find out more information on XGames

Click here to get a copy of the Kinect Cursor

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Using the Kinect and XGames to teach “Control”

  1. David Renton says:

    Well done Ray, great use of both your Kinect stuff and my xGames. I really will need to get on this blogging thing, I do have wordpress, but struggle to find the time :-). I’m thinking of using wordpress for our Games Programming Graded Unit this semester and get them to blog each week rather than creating a log.

  2. Frits says:

    The link doesn’t seem to work..

  3. Pingback: Using the Kinect and XGames to teach “Control” « cleave21

Leave a Reply

