Kinect Air Guitar!

airguitarSo recently I have been receiving emails from various people about different applications and interests in running some of the Kinect applications which have been featured in the apps section of my blog. Many people have been having common problems and some people have been trying to learn a little be of C# or C++. This is brilliant and it’s great to see all of you out there trying to have a go!

A guy called Harry Li contacted me through email and expressed interest in the Kinect Piano I had made. He asked about applying the same principles to an air guitar. He also contacted me about some technical issues with code. I was happy to assist and explained how you can pass values to text boxes if the Boolean is being difficult. Enough of the tech chat though, onto this guys great achievement.

You can follow Harry’s blog here.

The way the application works is:

  • Hover left hand over the chord
  • Move your right hand up and down to strum the guitar.

If you Click here, you can download the program from my sky drive and it is also available in the Kinect Library. I must stress that this is totally Harry’s achievement. I would like to thank him for letting me share his achievement on the blog and put it in the library.

Kinect Air Guitar
About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Education, Kinect, Kinect SDK, Kinect Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kinect Air Guitar!

  1. Pingback: KinectShare - Kinect Air Guitar! | Ray Chambers

  2. Ani says:

    The code is not working ! please see to it
    thanks

Leave a Reply

