Gesture Maths

I must say… I love having half-term! It’s given me more chance to catch up on all the things I want to do with Kinect! Here’s one of the next advances in the Kinect SDK. Dynamic Gestures! Forget static hand movements… this is going to be a thing of the past!

Up until now, A lot of my Kinect Applications for educational use had been really static and some of the programs did not really allow students to jump around and get more active. Through browsing a lot of different websites I had noticed that a lot of people were looking for the algorithm and a lot of people wanted to do the same thing.

kteam3During the early stages of the Kinect SDK and the Beta stages, some people starting working with something called Dynamic Time Warping. The idea of this was to record your movement within 30 frames.

http://kinectdtw.codeplex.com/ – I used this website, however the problem I came up against was that the code was only available for BETA version’s of the Kinect. It left me wondering why no one had adjusted it to fit the new version. Having adjusted and played around with it a little, I figured out how to record the Gesture and output it to a text file. I am now in the early stages of developing a maths game that allows students to “FLAP” their arms to tell the program that they should be subtracting and the student can also “CIRCLE” their right arm to say that they are adding.

Although the video lags a little, you can see that the program is telling me when I am correct or incorrect. The gestures are more interactive.

The project is in it’s early stages. I have been having some problems with height difference and I must thank my fiancée for being a crash test dummy during this. It is also very plain looking at the moment but there is going to be a more fun interface with menus when completed.

Download the DTW Kinect 1.5 file from here. You will need to import the reference file from your “Program Files/Microsoft SDK’s/Kinect/….” folder if you want to run it with the new SDK.

Circle hands for addition / Flap arms for subtraction
About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Education, Kinect, Kinect SDK, Kinect Tutorials, Kodu and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gesture Maths

  1. gduncan411 says:

    Nice! See THAT’s why I love open source/source available projects. Thanks for taking the time to do the update and release it. That part is Queue’d for next weeks Coding4Fun Kinect Gallery (and when you release the Math project I’ll queue that up for it’s own post too 🙂

    • raychambers says:

      Thanks – Well I didn’t do much to be honest. I only had to mess about with some existing versions and update the Kinect source. It runs none the less and I’m able to use it on future apps now I’ve got my head around it! I want to get the maths thing working with just addition and subtraction first. Even if it’s just 10 random questions and fun looking. I can then go on to change it up even more.

  2. David Renton says:

    Sounds like good stuff ray. I’ll need to have a look at it when I get a second.

  3. Arin says:

    Wow that looks great, I’ve also watched some of your videos, pretty good information. I am just getting started with this stuff and I seem to have some trouble in building the project in Visual C# 2010. I get about 17 errors when I try to publish it and not sure what I am doing wrong. I added the Microsoft.Kinect reference as well. Any help is appreciated, thanks.

  4. Arin says:

    Hey Ray, great work. However I was having trouble building your project in Visual C# 2010, I have the Microsoft SDK (v1.5) and everything too.

  5. Miguel says:

    Great men!, i had updated the DTW original project with the SDK v1.0, and works fine for me, but, works bad if different person has front to kinect (the gesture detection works perfectly with the person recorded gestures), so, your project comes to original DTW gesture Recognition ?, this version works with other persons ?, i mean, people with different height and build doesnt work fine.

    • xinhaoxu says:

      Hi. I am interested in Kinect-based application but am only a beginner. Can you please recommend some resources or online communities? Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

