Busy Summer!

Hi Guys! First of all, I would like to apologise for taking so long to update my blog. I have been up to a number of things over the summer and I’m going to try and explain them all in this entry.

At the beginning of the summer I officially left Lodge Park Technology College and had the most amazing send off from all of the staff and students. I have loved working every minute at Lodge Park and owe it a huge thank you for putting up with my craziness and for supporting me in all my adventures. I am now working at Uppingham Community College a school up the road and I am looking into ways of building on the use of ICT around the school. I will explain some of this later on in this entry.

This means that my email address has now changed to chambers_r@ucc.rutland.sch.uk . There may be some issues with some of the files on the application link not working due to me transferring them to a new sky drive area. Please be patient or email me for files if required.

The most important thing that has happened to me over the summer wedding-472would have to be getting married to my amazing wife Stephanie. In true geek style, me and Steph met over the internet about 10 years ago through an Irish Dance website I had made. I was 15 and enjoyed making websites. Steph contacted me and we have been going strong ever since. It was an amazing day and I have attached one of the photo’s from the day on the right. We had such a laugh and had Irish Dancers from the Stanley-Carroll school of Irish Dance performing at the wedding. We even thought it would be a giggle to have Lord Of The Dance as one of the Hymns. We were extremely lucky to have the weather on our side. The summer started with rain, rain and even more rain and we were so lucky with the way everything ran. We would like to thank everyone for the gifts and for coming down from all over the country for the wedding. A special thank you to @boothmank for coming all of the way from Cornwall!

Technocamps

DSCN0495After the wedding we didn’t really go for the conventional honey moon period. I was lucky to be invited to @technocamps and did a session with @geekynicki on the use of #Kodu. We were invited to Swansea University on the 8th and 9th of August to teach students how to develop computer games with the use of Kodu. There were some amazing games from these talented kids. They were able to showcase them to everyone. We had shooting games which spawned different characters, there were games based around Zelda. Everyone really enjoyed the activities and were able to take something away from it. We really enjoyed our time in Wales.

Technocamps has been designed to inspire highly skilled young people. They get the opportunity to develop and make use of computer science. They could make Wales a world leader in development of new and advanced technologies. They offer a series of events for young people and adults which will hopefully increase the awareness for the need of computer science in schools. You can find out more information about Technocamps here.

We were fortunate to take some pictures of each day at the event. Click here to see some images.

New Job, New Role….

koduAt the beginning of the summer I started to visit my new school. Uppingham Community College. The IT curriculum in place is structured really well but I have an aim of introducing more computer science into it. Uppingham Community College is an Academy which means it has some freedom in what we teach. The first thing I aim to do is to publicize the IT department. The first thing we have done is order 30 Xbox Controllers for use with our classes. Students will be making use of Kodu for the first time. I have shown 1 student the software on the computers and they’re already coming in at lunch time to play with it before it is even being taught in lessons. It is such a useful tool and it engages the students straight away.

The second thing I have already started showing to students is the Kinect. They were shocked and they all wanted to come up and use it in lesson time. I was very impressed with how the small changes have been really engaging the pupils.

Future plans, I am currently looking at licensing for Dreamspark within the school and I’m looking at showing students how to use VB, C# and other programming languages in preparation for future qualifications which may be offered. I have mentioned this to some of the students and they are already engaged and excited about the possibility of developing their own games. I also aim to get my students to participate in programming competitions around the U.K.

Watch this space….

Computer Science AQA Delivery

aqaComputing in schools has been a very small part of the curriculum until recent announcements. AQA are currently delivering a course which shows you how to deliver their new GCSE Computer Science course. There is a taster session coming up on the 13th of September and you will be able to see some of the content which is likely to be delivered on the course. You will have the opportunity to try out making some of the programs yourself and you will also have the opportunity to take away some demo’s and files from the course. I will be delivering this course as a webinar online and you will be able to ask questions throughout the course by using LiveMeeting. If you would like more information about signing up to this course then click here. 

You can view the previous session from the 17th of July by clicking on this link here.  When the page has loaded you will need to type in your name and the recording ID which is “THMZ4R”. 

I would like to thank you for your patience and I’m currently hoping to get a Kinect Application together very soon.

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Education, Kodu and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

