Computer Science GCSE

pythonSo, early last year… you may remember seeing Michael Gove in the news talking about the need for more computer science within schools. With all of these changes up in the air, I felt that it would be good to start preparing resources ahead of anything that may happen.

It is good for students to learn more about the workings of the computer and it’s even better to understand how to approach it. I have decided to make some simple videos to introduce both teachers and students into Python. These video tutorials will show you how to use the latest version of Python 3.3.

You will then be able to follow on from these video tutorials and you will be able to go and start expanding on what you’ve learnt. You can use the documentation which comes with the software. You will be able to find those resources here.

Now many of you have been moving towards computer science. AQA have been offering a healthy approach to the course which includes links to Microsoft Academy and it includes free resources. I have been delivering this course through a webinar. If you’re interested in finding out more information about training for computer science. Click here.

You can preview some of the video tutorials I have prepared below and you will have a rough idea of how to use Python. I hope this is useful to any teachers who are going to start progressing towards computer science.

Introduction to Python 3.3 Programming
Reading in text using python 3.3
Writing text to a file in python 3.3
Multidimensional Arrays–Python 3.3
Using Float, Int, String–Python 3.3
Else If Statement within Python 3.3
About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Awards, Education, Programming, Python and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Computer Science GCSE

  1. matiancai74 says:

    Ray, really impressed with everything you are doing on this site – your students are lucky. I am starting a new job this September, and will continue to refer to your site for news and insight. Well done!

Leave a Reply

