Windows 8 Appathon

AppathonAs part of the Microsoft Innovative Educator Program a number of educators were invited to join Microsoft’s Partners in Learning Appathon Competition. I was lucky enough to be one of these educators. The competition is a pilot year which aims at getting educators to make innovation educational applications on the Windows Platform. You can find out more about the appathon by visiting the web site.

honeypotEach of the educators attended 3 virtual university sessions where we would learn how to develop mobile phone applications. Once these sessions had finished, each of us were encouraged to develop a mock up idea for a windows application. The great thing is, none of the educators would need programming knowledge before hand! They would only need an idea. The most innovative ideas would be put through to the competition and they would attend an “Appathon” in London.

My idea was to make a spelling game for children on the go. Parents do not always have the time to go through words with the children. I remember when I was at school, I would get a tin of words to learn. This application would check students knowledge of simple spellings. If they get it correct they would get a point. I would even use a bumble bee for it. I named the application “Spelling Bee”. When a student gets 5 points, they would have the opportunity to play a bonus game for extra points! Following these virtual universities, we submitted our ideas. I was lucky enough to be one of the educators picked! I’m so excited about the opportunity and I have even started teaching myself some extra bits of code here and there. You can see the work which has been done on the bonus part of my game.

If you’re interested to see the start of my idea! Check out the video below! I have explained “some” of the code for you. If you’re interested in using this, then please let me know and I will give you some quick tips. I’m hoping to develop some of my own tutorial videos very soon. This will allow you to develop mobile phone applications with KS3 and KS4.

The sample below is only one part of the game. The educational aspect such as the spelling is to come soon! I’m very excited about the opportunity and will keep you updated with what’s to come!

Spelling Bee–Bonus Game
About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Awards, BETT2013, Education, Programming, TouchDevelop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

