An App A Day….

So yesterday I featured two apps produced by students while I was at the launch of the UK Hour of code! Today… here’s another. Student Dawid Czajka is 13 from Uppingham Community College and developed an app after coming to me for requirements.

Students have been approaching staff and asking them how they can contribute to lessons. They have been asking them about the apps which will be helpful to learning. 3 of the apps produced have been useful for History and P.E, so I thought why not help my own subject out.

I told Dawid that it would be nice to have an app which introduced people to computer science. Maybe an app which labels bits of computer hardware. It would give students and intro to the subject and they would be able to see where some of the hardware goes. After sitting down with me and learning about the hardware he wrote down my requirements and off he went.

hardware Today is the release of his app into the windows store! You can download it by clicking on the image or by clicking here. With the launch of the hour of code we’re aiming to get a students app into the store every day this week in order to celebrate and the apps this students are making at the age of 11,12 and 13 is phenomenal. The great thing is…. the learning has been flipped. I’ve provided the tutorials and they’re making the apps and it’s also given the students a voice. They can see the impact they’re having in lessons and they can also see the feedback by the number of downloads each time. Try out “Computer Hardware” by clicking here. You drag the word to the piece of hardware and then to the place where it goes.

These apps were produced using the tool TouchDevelop.com and the students love it because they can continue working on the apps at home in the cloud. It runs on any device and they continue doing it on the bus, on the train or wherever they are at that time! You can try the scheme of work with your students here:

KS2 Scheme of work – Introduces basic loops and algorithms to primary school students

Ks3 Scheme of work – Introduces a host of lesson on algorithms, sprites, booleans and more

Video tutorials

Don’t forget to continue getting your students building apps with the UK hour of code! I’ve already had 130 students take part and have another 100 taking part today. Are you game? Find out more by visiting http://www.uk.code.org with your students and get them working through the tutorials today!

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Appathon, Computer Science, Education, hour of coding, Maths, Microsoft, partners in learning, Programming, TouchDevelop, Uk hour of code, windows 8 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

