Code Hunt – Microsoft Helps Coding!

imageSo I’ve been a little quiet lately, apart from studying from some very important exams… I’ve been looking out for that one thing which will extend some of my hard core coders! I’ve been teaching Touch Develop, Python and Scratch and would like to step it up a gear with some of my students. 

imageLast week, I received an email from my Wife saying that I should try out the new coding from Microsoft. I had to investigate. This has led me to Code Hunt! It is a free tool from Microsoft which allows you to do debugging. It does require some pre-programming knowledge and it expects you to solve problems. There is a short tutorial and it makes it seem like a game. You capture the code and then find the error. 

image You are then given the result. You can see it expects X to be equal to one. I would then go and figure out how I could make X = 1 using the code and capture it again. This would then tell me if I’ve solved the code or now. I do recommend you have some coding experience before you try this. Make sure that you read the tutorials fully! You should get a nice little reward when you have finished and then you can continue to code other problems!

To access the website, go to http://www.codehunt.com

image

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Computer Science, Education, hour of coding, Microsoft, partners in learning, Programming, Uk hour of code, windows 8 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

