Switched On Computing – Tutorial Samples

switched So at BETT in January, Rising Stars teamed up with Microsoft to create 6 brand new Switched computing units which would help you and your school get started with computing before September. Well it’s now September and some people are still worried about how they’re going to deliver the content in their schools. I used the free samples issued by Microsoft and made 6 PowerPoints and Videos based on the content. I added in some extra tips and have explained ways you could deliver some of the content. I’ve even included some of my own video tutorials to get you trying different things.

Mixoffice These presentations and videos were created using a new piece of software called Office Mix. There is an add in for Microsoft PowerPoint 2013 which allows you to add questions, videos, sounds etc.. You are even able to record straight from your webcam. Our students are currently sprucing up some of our teachers resources and they’re going to star in the videos themselves! Exciting stuff!

I have attached the 6 videos below and have linked them to YouTube. If you would like to download the slide decks, you can get them from this link on One Drive here Feel free to download the videos and the resources but I do not own the copyright to Rising Stars. I’m just using the samples that are available (FREE).

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Computer Science, Education, hour of coding, Kodu, MakeyMakey, Microsoft, partners in learning, Programming, windows 8 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

