Minecraft Vs Logic Gates

So recently I have been working with a group of students at my school. I have been showing them the new computing curriculum and we have been suggesting fun ways of delivering the new computing curriculum. One student called Joe in 9ZF had suggested that I use Minecraft to teach Logic gates. At first, I had to think about what he was talking about…. Whilst I had seen the value of using Minecraft for creativity, I had never saw it as a way of teaching computing terms. I decided to investigate some more!

Logic gates are a building block for creating digital circuits. Most logic gates have two inputs and one output. At any moment they can have different conditions (binary 0 and 1). These represent on and off. I had looked at Minecraft closely and had noticed that a lot of YouTube videos have shown people how to make different objects. For example, some people have made clocks.

After more consultation with the students I had noticed that there was a big prospect. I was going to develop a curriculum which used flipped learning. How much fun would it be if my students were trying this out at home and it was helping them get ready for the G.C.S.E computing curriculum. I have recently started developing a Minecraft scheme of work. I have produced 5 tutorials to begin with. They concentrate on creating the setting up of the different spaces in Minecraft and they show you how to use the NOT/AND/OR gates.

There are likely to be a few more lessons on here. I’m going to develop some video tutorials for the first 5 lessons and I’m aiming to develop some projects which allow students to use the logic gates.

If you are interested in finding out how you can set up Minecraft in your school, drop me an email at chambers_r@ucc.rutland.sch.uk I’m hoping to build more from this tutorial so that students can see how logic gates can be used to assemble some objects.

Controls / How to use Minecraft
Setting Up the Space
NOT Gates
OR Gates
And Gates
About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Minecraft Vs Logic Gates

  1. Bob Thacker says:

    Great idea this! My Y9 group suggested using this when I started to teach binary with a set of 8 torches. We developed a MinecraftEdu world that allowed pupils to create sets of 8 redstone torches. When they learnt the basics of binary, we used ascii codes to send messages to each other using the torches. Some pupils made some amazing devices with redstone, repeaters and stone blocks. They even went to the trouble of making a bank of switches and buried the ‘wiring’ underground so it looked great.
    I’m trying to think of other ways of using it and logic gates looks a great idea.

Leave a Reply

