Importing and Exporting your World – MinecraftEDU

Many teachers have started using MinecraftEDU. The difficulty that some people have had is when it comes to using multiple worlds with multiple classes. Many people aren’t sure how to put their servers into other classrooms. I’ve put some resources together which should show you how to work through these issues.

During my year 8 lesson, I felt that it was important to get them to flip the learning and have a little more independence. I created a Minecraft world which would include houses and signs in each of the houses. The students were then challenged to find out the meanings of each of the terms. Some of these terms were ‘loop’ or ‘while’. There were terms such as ‘algorithm’ and ‘variable’. They would go into each room and then write down the definition. As a group I would use this as a platform to the lesson. I would use unplugged activities to support. The Minecraft world was a great way of enthusing them and trying something new.

Many of the other teachers in the department wanted to use this. The issue we had was that we had to figure out how to save the world onto the other teacher machines. After some investigation we found the export button and then figured out how to import the information. If you click here, you can download the programming world which was developed for my year 8 class.

These two video tutorials should help you answer a few questions so that you can be more flexible with your students.

How to import the saved world
How to export your world

Happy Minecrafting!

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

