Periscope – Great TOOL!!!

Periscope This post is something new I’ve been experimenting with. I have been signed up to periscope but never really ‘got it’. I’d used it with a couple of friends but would use it for stupid things such as saying hi to friends in the morning or ‘brushing teeth’.

What is it?

Periscope is a social media tool which you can sign up to for iPad or Android. It allows you to use your twitter account to register. You push a button and it sends out a link which streams your camera LIVE! There are some random people out there who like to video themselves walking down the street but it can be used as an awesome revision tool particularly if students have an exam the next day. i.e – My Year 9’s!

Safe Guarding Issues?

One of the issues which I had to contend with was that many year 9 students weren’t allowed twitter accounts by their parents. I respect that and understand it. The great thing was, that they can still access my school twitter account without having an account. They just searched for ucc_cs on twitter and had the live feed. When you press broadcast, all of the students can see my camera streaming. Students who had the app would write messages to me and students who didn’t would tweet me. You can view the feed via the web browser. The other thing which is really awesome is that you can create private! chats. This only works if people have the app (downside) and you have them as followers (or follow them). If you can’t make your video private, you can do what I do. I make it so that the chat window is only available to people who I follow. This stops randomers from typing, alternatively turn it off completely and take questions via your inbox / twitter. There are ways to work around it.

Did it work?

periscope2 I guess I will find out when the exam results come through! I can say that 17 of my students downloaded the app and the remaining students accessed it via the web. You can see that there were over 100 views via the web. Not bad, when you consider that there are 144 students in the year group! I’m very proud of my year 9 students for giving up their time on a sunday to come and talk revision. Hopefully the results come through… You can see the video footage below and I’ve managed to upload it to YouTube for my students to access and revisit in the future. I love this tool and look forward to using it even more in the near future!

If you’re able to click on the picture on the left, you should be able to see how many students were had accessing the revision session.

Quick Tip: – The messages which appear on the screen do not appear in the video you save, what you will need to do is repeat the question when you say it so that your students remember what the original question was.

 

 

 

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Computer Science, Education and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

