Minecraft and R.E

So recently before I moved to my new school I had been using Minecraft to encourage students to try different things in their lessons. When learning about theory in some of the computing lessons, I thought that it was nice to put a different spin on things. I love how Minecraft can be used as a different medium.

Some of you may know that I’m a Christian and my faith is important to me. Recently during a school holiday I invited a group of students in to share their favourite bible stories. Many of them picked a range of stories from Noahs Ark through to Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego. Students worked together in a range of servers to create a number of different worlds based on what they thought it might have looked like around the time.

Following on from this, they would use HyperCam2. I found this software online for free and it seemed to have the best frame rate. I found other screen capture software would freeze and stall. Students recorded their screen and then put the footage into MovieMaker. This allowed them to narrate and add text to their stories. I have attached some of the footage from the day and you can see that Minecraft could also be used to share R.E.

No matter what faith or religion you are, you can look at stories and backgrounds of each faith and get students to research information required. They could then build stories or worlds based on the research and record videos to present this information to you. It also goes to show that power of Minecraft. Some of the children at this day were aged 8 through to 15. The students worked together and were able to use the software confidently. I’m very proud of these kids and what they achieved in just 4 hours.

Have a look at some of the videos below.

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

