2nd Day of Christmas–Teaching Tips–Programming

Welcome to my 2nd day of Christmas teaching tips. These tips today are meant to help teachers with their programming. They may even help some of your students with their programming. The concepts that will be covered in this video include.

  • Variables
  • Type Casting
  • Data types
  • operators

These are some basic steps to getting you programming. The video starts by showing you how to declare variables and how to assign them. It then goes on to show you some type casting and it also goes on to show you how you can then include operators within your code. I hope that video is a good introduction to programming.

I will include some videos on how to do while and for loops over this season, I will also introduce you to some branching and conditions.

As a gift from me, to you – Providing it meets YouTube terms and conditions – You may use Keep Vid to download this and use it in any Power Points you may have.

Merry Christmas!

Programming Python Introduction to coding
About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Coding, Computer Science, Computing, Programming, Python and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

