3rd Day of Christmas–Teaching Tips– Quicker Marking (Smart Marking)

Merry Christmas! I hope that day 3 is going amazing! Remember Christmas has only just started! This is why I’m giving out a gift of a teaching tip a day. Some will be programming related but others may help your own teaching. I am planning on including some behaviour management tips as well as tips to help you with planning.

Today’s tip is all about smart marking. I aim to speed things up a little for people who have been struggling with their work load. Lets face it! Marking can be a pain BUT it’s got to be done and it helps our students progress to where they need to be. I have included a video which explains how it works but here are two pictures to get us started.

How to use it: –

Cut down your work load!

Developments: –

Slide2When marking your students work, to save yourself from writing similar things over and over again, you can use a development slide as your starter. Get your students to look for the letters you have written on their work. When they find the letters, they must write down the developmental point which is shown on the board. The idea of this is that they reflect on their work and they read what is written. So many times, I have written feedback and students have failed to read it or respond. This forces them to write it down.

 

 

 

 

Achievements: –

Slide3Once the students have reflected on their developmental points, it’s important that they know about all of the good stuff that they do. List a number of achievements down the page and help them see all of the good in their work. This will help them realise how good they are at particular tasks. You should encourage good work.

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Education, Marking, NQT Training, teaching and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

