5th Day of Christmas–Teaching Tips–Embedding Python Programming into your PowerPoint

On the 5th day of Christmas, a teacher gave to me! Tips on embedding programming within your PowerPoint presentations.

In yesterday’s video tutorial, I showed you how easy it was to record your presentations for flipped learning. Today I’m going to show you how you can load up web pages within your presentation. For this example, I’m going to use Python compiler found online. The version of Python that we will be using is Python 3.3 – https://www.tutorialspoint.com//execute_python3_online.php – I have tried other compilers but for some reason, Office Mix does not support some of them. I know for a fact that Office Mix supports Python 3.3 with the use of the website above.

I would like to thank @innovativeteach for this tip. We were talking about how you could do this with other software a few months ago and he brought my attention to this. Thanks dude!

The video below explains how to do it and you can also follow step by step instructions with images below.

Embedding Python Programming Into Presentation

Once you have loaded up your presentation, find the office mix tab.

image

The next step that you will need to take is the quizzes, videos and apps button.

image

Once you have clicked on the button above, you will be given a list of applications which can be embedded into your presentation. You will want the Web Viewer. Click on the add button.

image

Type in the website address that you want. Then click on the preview button.

image

You should now have your website embedded into your PowerPoint presentation. You can now code without having to leave the presentation.

image

*Update – Without Office Mix*

A friend of mine tweeted me to say that he doesn’t have Office Mix on his computer and I realised that this could be a problem. Here is the work around for getting this feature into your presentations! When you load up PowerPoint, you can go into your options. Click on File > options > customize ribbon

image

Make sure that you turn on the Developer tab. Come out of the menu and go to the Developer tab which will have appeared at the top of your screen.

Click on the more controls button in the developer tab.

image

You will be given a menu, and you will need to select the Microsoft Web Browser from the menu.

image

Now draw a box for viewing your website!

image

Go back to the menu at the top and select the control button tool.

image

Draw the button on the screen.

image

Double click on the button to add the following code.

image

Press the save button, load your PowerPoint up and push the button!

Watch the magic!

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Computer Science, Computing, Education, hour of coding, Microsoft, Python, teaching, TouchDevelop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

