9th Day of Christmas–Data Representation–Videos for Computer Science OCR 1-9

I like to help out computer science teachers and students. My students have finished studying Data Representation and as a revision tool, I have recorded all of my lessons into lessons under 15 minutes. It’s got some of the tips from my lesson and it also includes step by step guides on how to convert from Denary into Binary. There are videos which explain hexadecimal and there are also some videos which explain how ASCII and characters work. The videos attached should help your students for revision and should help them prepare for the computing exam in 2017.

The video on sound and binary shifts are important things to think about. If you currently have students in year 10 this is high priority on the exam paper. They usually get students to really break down how the sample rate has impact on the size of the file. I’m going to break this down and explain this in as much detail for you in the 4th video.

You can access the playlist by clicking here

I have attached the 5 lessons below and I have included the intro video for the 9th day of Christmas.

Intro Video: –

9th Day of Christmas:–Introduction

Lesson 1 – Binary

Introduction to Binary

Lesson 2 – Hexadecimal

Introduction to Hexadecimal

Lesson 3 – Images Representation

Image Representation–Computer Science

Lesson 4 – Sound / Compression

Sound sampling and data representation computer science

Lesson 5 – Binary Shift

Binary Shift

Merry Christmas!

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Coding, Computer Science, Computing, Education, teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

