Microsoft Tag–Example Resource on E-Safety

Yesterday I posted a blog entry about a new tool by Microsoft called “Microsoft Tag” and I just thought I would give you an update on the type of resource you could prepare. I am going to be starting off my Year 7 classes with an introduction of how to stay safe online and I just thought I would share the type of activity I am going to do with them.

The idea puts the learning into the students hands. Rather than standing at the front of the class saying a bunch of things that could happen to the students, I have prepared a fake diary entry of something which could happen to any teenager without the proper pre-cautions. Next to the diary entry I will put in Microsoft Tag’s so that students can see what you should do at the various points in the story.

To link in with literacy and creative writing. The students will use what they learn in the lesson to prepare their own story. They will come up with a scenario in which bad things could happen online. Have a look at the examples below and see for yourself. Please note, the tags are active so you can try out the example if you like Smile.

You will need:

Microsoft Tag Website – Click here 

Microsoft Tag App – Click here

Diary Template – Click here

Diary Example – Click here

How to use Microsoft Tag

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Microsoft Tag–Example Resource on E-Safety

  1. bobcatridge says:

    Very clever, the tags work great with the built in tag reader that will be comming with Windows Phone 7 Mango!

Leave a comment