Touch Develop – Not just for programmers!

image So recently, you might have noticed a few of my blog posts being about Touch Develop. Well I don’t think it’s fair that us programmers have all of the fun with it! I can see how this can be a useful tool for all teachers. The example shown in the image is something which I managed to throw together in a matter of minutes and you can do. If you follow this simple guide I’ve put together. You can download the walk through guide by clicking on it.

Teachers can now make E-book’s easily by using pages and boxes. Pages and Boxes are the blocks that stack up on top of each other in the Windows 8 environment. Programming does not have to involve all of the technical Jargon and all of the variables, not if you only need to make a simple application from it.

I decided to make a tutorial which allows teachers to build their own E-books for use in lessons. Teachers can now develop their own applications as revision guides. They can also use this tutorial as a way of getting students to build e-portfolio’s for their work. I know that some of my students would love to make their work into an E-portfolio which could make it into the app store. If you’re interested in making your own E-book, E-portfolio or Revision guide, then you can download the guide here as a PDF.

I will be aiming to support this material with a video tutorial soon. If you would like to work from my existing template, then you can follow the link here, directly to my touch develop application.

The process is fairly simple to follow and it walks you through images and boxes. It also shows you how to link pages together. If you would like to find out about how to publish your application into the store, then you can follow this link for my previous post about getting applications into the store.

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment