Multi-Dimensional Data Structure – Example

Some people have looked through the guidance for the new computing curriculum and have asked me what a Multi-Dimentional / Two Dimensional Data Structure is. Using OfficeMix, I have managed to produce a quick video which shows what a single data structure looks like. I have used an Array for this example. I have moved on to explain how Two-Dimensional Array’s work. This video should give you a rough idea.

The reason we use them is so that we can organise our data in a way which is easy to use/sort when programming. It would be much easier to increase the position of the Array by one using a variable. If we had 5,000 different variables it would be difficult to trace each one. This is why we use Array’s as a Multi-Dimensional Data Structure.

Multi-Dimensional Array

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Education, Programming and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment