Want to make a basic Kinect SDK App… now you can :)

So I’ve been making the Kinect Apps since the summer and I have been enjoying helping other teachers and seeing the impact it has had. My next step is to encourage other teachers to try and jump into the world of the Kinect SDK and to attempt to actually make some applications themselves.programming

As a small introduction to the Kinect SDK and to the world of programming. I have provided a piece of sample code and a 4 part tutorial to show you how you can get a sound running. I have attached the 4 videos below and have included a trouble shooting guide to help you. You will need to make sure that you follow the requirements document first and that you download all of the things you need.

Click Here – To find out what you will need to install before you make your first app

Click HereTo find out about common problems and how to solve them in seconds

Click Here – To go to my SkyDrive and download the Lesson1Sample

Once you have all of the system requirements and all of the installs, just sit back and follow the videos below (available in HD). They show you step by step how to make a simple sound board and show you how to change the icon you want to use for your cursors. Please comment back on your success.

Lesson One–Part 1

 

Lesson One–Part 2

Lesson One–Part 3
Lesson One–Part 4

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Want to make a basic Kinect SDK App… now you can :)

  1. Pingback: Mooie Microsoft Kinect reclame » ICT & Onderwijs BLOG

  2. Pingback: Lesson 2 – Using Gestures with the Kinect SDK | raychambers

  3. pan says:

    hi ,
    i am getting the below 2 errors
    1 Unable to load the metadata for assembly ‘Coding4Fun.Kinect.Wpf’
    The following error was encountered during load: Could not load file or assembly ‘Coding4Fun.Kinect.Wpf, Version=1.1.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null’ or one of its dependencies. Operation is not supported
    2 The type ‘Controls:HoverButton’ was not found. Verify that you are not missing an assembly reference

    i have deleted and added the references as mentioned by you , pls assist

    • pan says:

      got the soln , posting it as it may help others
      need to manually unblock the dll , by right clicking on them and unblock, this will come for first time after downloading from net …enjoy

      • Ricky says:

        I am having the same problem. Could you elaborate on your solution. What do you mean by unblocking the dll and right clicking on them?

  4. Michael says:

    Special thanks from Seattle !! very nice starting tutorial!

    • raychambers says:

      Glad you like them 🙂 – Feel free to contact me or follow me on twitter if there is something a bit buggy etc… also welcome for ideas for other apps, at the end of the day they’re all free for everyone 🙂

  5. Michelle Barnett says:

    Hi Ray,
    I’m teaching a new c# class using visual Studio to 11th graders at a small private school near Atlanta, GA. I was hoping to use kinect at the end of the class to put some WOW into our class. We will have spent the whole semester using winforms so I don’t wnat to change to wpf in midstream. I’m having problems finding examples using winforms. I was trying to port the wpf examples but I don’t know what to substitute for some of the controls, like there’s no image control in winforms. Any suggestions on how to get started using winforms? Thanks! Your site is giving me hope that I can actually pull this off.

  6. Mohit says:

    Hey
    What audio file formats can I use for the buttons?

  7. Mohit says:

    I want to show someone this program who has a kinect but not vs 201 or the SDK.
    Can he see the program or does he need to hav the tools?

    • raychambers says:

      Hi… not quite sure what you mean? He will need to have the Kinect SDK installed, Visual Studio 2010 Express c# and you will also need to download the coding 4 fun tool kit. See lesson 6 in the tutorials to see how to get them running.

      • Mohit Hiralal says:

        Sorry. A typing error but still u answered my question. So thanks! Really good tutorial. I am thinking of making a kinect software for my final year computer science project. Any ideas u can provide?
        Thanks

      • raychambers says:

        Final year computer science project which might be good would be to ask some teachers about what software they would benefit from which would help engage students. You could ask their opinions about what they could do with and then you could work with one specific teacher to develop the final product for them. I know there are a lot of teachers looking to use the kinect at the moment. Maybe come up with with something which might help people with disabilities play games. Like head movement…. If head moves to left…. move game left etc…

      • Mohit says:

        Thank You for all your replies

  8. Alan says:

    Hi,

    i am having trouble with the controls:hoverbutton. is this in a specific reference? visual studio doesn’t recognise it. can you help me?

  9. reuben says:

    Hi,
    I managed to finish lesson 1 and when I tried lesson 2, it worked for a few times but now I get this error message all the time. (I revisited lesson 1 and the same error as below appears)
    A first chance exception of type ‘System.Windows.Markup.XamlParseException’ occurred in PresentationFramework.dll
    Additional information: ‘The invocation of the constructor on type ‘KinectingTheDotsUserControl.MainWindow’ that matches the specified binding constraints threw an exception.’ Line number ‘3’ and line position ’64’.
    If there is a handler for this exception, the program may be safely continued.

    Thank you for the excellent video and code. I hope you can help me,

Leave a comment