Lesson 8–Drag and Drop with the Kinect SDK

programmingThis short lesson shows you how you can put your left hand above your head and then use your right hand to control where an image is positioned. It is a short video but should be easy to follow. It works on the concept that if your hand position on the Y Axis is greater then the head position on the X Axis, then carry out the canvas position of the image.

It’s a very short lesson to follow and there shouldn’t be any problems. The video is available in HD on YouTube so you will be able to see the text in a lot more detail and it shouldn’t be too difficult to read. Hope it helps!

You can download the sample files here and you can watch the video below to see if you can replicate the same.

Kinect SDK–Lesson 8–Drag and Drop an image

About Raymond David James Chambers

I am the Lead teacher of computing at Brooke Weston Academy in Corby Northamptonshire. Previously I was the head of IT/Computing at Uppingham Community College. In 2015 I won the Gold National Teaching award for Innovative use of technology. I also won the 2015 Young Game Bafta - Mentor award. I'm keen to help students achieve their best and like to give them opportunities to do this. I have a passion for teaching and I enjoy meeting other people and sharing their ideas. I have a keen interest in games development as well as developing the use of ICT in classrooms across the curriculum. In my spare time I teach Irish dancing. I have been Irish dancing since I was 11. My highest position was 14th at the world championships 3 years running and 2nd at the Great Britain Championships in 2006.
This entry was posted in Education, Kinect, Kinect SDK, Kinect Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lesson 8–Drag and Drop with the Kinect SDK

  1. Pingback: Interesting Links 02 January 2012 | MSDN Blogs

  2. qilaazmi says:

    hello there sir..I’m new in developing Kinect apps.I’ve been planning in developing apps for my final year project for my degree in Computer Science, i’ve been searching a lot of info’s from your site which is really helping. But i have problem in connecting the kinect with my laptop. how can i connect it? do i need any extra cable. hope u can help

  3. qilaazmi says:

    okay..thank you..found it!
    do you have any links or tutorial i can follow from scratch?..i’ve install kinect v1.0 beta..then i would like to try on the audio sample and the sample skeletal video,but it did not working..

  4. qilaazmi says:

    sir, i just realise that i’ve Kinect for Xbox360 and not Kinect for windows sensor..is there any difference between it?..is that means i cant use my Kinect Xbox360??..is there any way that i can still use it for my FYP ? this is really beyond what i expected 😦

    big thanks for help

    • raychambers says:

      Hi There, It shouldn’t matter what sense you use. I use both with it and it works fine. Have you extracted all of the files? What errors are you getting – can you email them to ray_chambers@lodgepark.org.uk and I’ll see what I can do.

      • qilaazmi says:

        thank God, its working…i’ve downloaded the Kinect for windows SDK v1.0 and try the sample for audio and skeletal..and its working!!!yeay… and i already download your tutorial lesson 1,but i have error,something to do with microsoft kinect.research..what is that?..i already download the .winform and wpf ..is there something that i miss?

        btw,thanks for replying!

  5. qilaazmi says:

    hello,sorry for disturbing you again 🙂
    i have question, is it possible to create an interface to link to the activity that been created in C#, for example an interface where the user can choose from 4 activity available,and after finish with the activity they have choose, they can get back to the first interface and choosing other activity?

Leave a comment